Country Club Chicken {Kayotic Kitchen}

12 Mar

(Click on image for source.)

(Review by Marci)
It is still winter weather up here in Washington State. Of course, if you ask anyone who has lived here for more than two years, this is actually spring weather!  Coming from spending 10 years soaking up the sun in Arizona, I say if I still have to wear gloves and a hat or snow is still in the forecast, it is winter.  Last year “winter” lasted until July!  So, with the cold still seeping into my bones, I was in the mood for some hearty comfort food.  When I saw the photo of Kayotic Kitchen‘s Country Club Chicken on Pinterest, I bundled up the kids and headed to the store for the ingredients. (Side Note: If you have ever gone grocery shopping with kids, you already know that I forgot half the items on my list.)  Check out the recipe here.
This meal took every ounce of my cooking abilities.  Kay has some beautiful photos of the steps involved, and there are a lot!  Luckily, since I forgot the mushrooms and apples, I got to skip those steps.  It still took the full 90 minutes to make.  The one thing that made me a little nervous was that you don’t drain the bacon grease.  It becomes the base for the sauce.  While this made for a delicious, mouth-watering dish, I couldn’t help but apologize to my heart and waistline for what I was about to do to them
Verdict: Pass (with a side of guilt).  This was A.MAZ.ING!  Mine did not look nearly as pretty as Kay’s photos and the kids were a little wary when they saw it, but we all loved it.  My dad came over for dinner that night and kept exclaiming, “This is SO good!”  My stomach was not very happy with me the next day, but I still ate the leftovers for lunch.  Next time I would like to try it with all the ingredients; I wonder how it will affect the flavor.  Overall, a great cold-weather comfort food!
6 Responses to “Country Club Chicken {Kayotic Kitchen}”

  1. Karen March 13, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    If it tasted half as good as the photo, then it was delicious.

  2. jessica March 24, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    did anyone happen to save the recipe or print it?? the website is down and I bought all the ingredients to make it and now i cant 😦

    jessicashandie@yahoo.ca

  3. Lela March 26, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    I so want this recipe it anyone has it please email it to me. dumbotoo2001@yahoo.com Thanks

    • Pin Eat Review March 27, 2012 at 7:57 am #

      Lela, I just clicked the link to the recipe and Kayotic Kitchen’s server must be working again. (Or whatever the problem was.) Hope you love it! 🙂

  4. Tammy August 2, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    If you will look in the first paragraph, it says to click “here” for recipe…its in red.

Leave a Reply

