Pinterest and Copyright Fears

6 Mar

Someone who practised integrity, caution and respect.

(By Denise)

Since Pin Eat Review is a blog that directly uses the highly popular website Pinterest, I’d like to take a moment to discuss the fears about copyright infringement. I am not a lawyer. This is not legal advice.

There is a lot of speculation about whether the idea behind Pinterest is even legal, because it sets us up to take images from other websites and use them for our own purposes. (Even if the only purpose is to put them on our Pinterest boards.) As of yet, there have been no legal threats involving Pinterest or Pinterest users. But for good reason it is time to exercise great caution and respect for the creative work of others.

For that reason, I’ll now be taking my own photos for the reviews. (There is one upcoming review on asparagus this week that will not have my own photo.) As I’ve done before, I will continue to give both credit and links to the websites who offer the recipes. I will also tell you enough about the recipe to let you know my experience, but never give the recipe here. I want you to click on over to Crumb, The Country Cook, and others. What I love about Pin Eat Review is the online sharing! I love having a website that’s sole purpose is to bring awareness to the work of others; in this case, recipes.

I think Pinterest is a neat site. Let’s keep it going by passing on an environment of integrity. Here are some simple ways to do that:

  • Always give credit to the original site when you pin something. (For example: “Oreo Pudding Poke Cake–by The Country Cook”)
  • Avoid simply repinning. Instead when you see a pin you like, click on over to the original site and pin from there.
  • Never give away the farm on your pin description. (Don’t write out the whole recipe, give the whole creative tip, etc.) Make sure the pin will send others to the site it came from.

In general, remember that every pin you see came from an actual person. It is easy to forget that online. (Just read the comments on nearly any news article! I doubt most people would say things like that to someone’s face.) I like knowing that even in something as simple as using Pinterest, we can reflect the wonderful aspects of our humanity.

Here are two helpful articles on this topic:

Plagiarism Today “A Word of Caution for Pinterest Users”

Amy Lynn Andrews “Pinterest and Copyright: What I’m Doing”

6 Responses to “Pinterest and Copyright Fears”

  1. ipinterest March 6, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Thanks so much for this advice! I was having a few of the same concerns since my blog is also “inspired by pinterest”. I currently have been using my own photos and a link to the original source, but I do occasionally include a recipe, which I will not do anymore! Any more advice you could offer would be great! PS- how did you create your watermark? I haven’t quite learned how to do that yet. Yours is great!

    • Pin Eat Review March 7, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      Hi Karie! I’m so wordy, I just sent you a message on Facebook. 🙂

      • ipinterest March 7, 2012 at 8:32 am #

        for some reason I can’t see it? not sure why. Can you try again? Thanks so much!

      • Pin Eat Review March 7, 2012 at 8:44 am #

        I just copied it and sent it to your regular email instead. Not sure why it didn’t show up in Facebook–but oh well! 🙂

  2. xerox documate 510 March 23, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Old-Style Mustard and Rosemary Asparagus « Pin. Eat. Review. - March 10, 2012

    […] tell you that the photo above is not really this recipe. (Sad, I know.) I made this recipe before I upped the ante on being careful with copyright conundrums, and it happened that I had a photo on my phone of asparagus. (What? You don’t snap phone […]

Leave a Reply

