Caramelized Onion Tart with Gorgonzola and Brie

2 Mar

(Review by Denise)

I am not an onion person. For 2/3 of my life I thought I was an onion hater. Then I learned something: onions don’t have to be raw, crunchy, and ruiners of burgers and quiche. They can be sweet! Caramelized onions are winners. For that reason, check out the recipe for Caramelized Onion Tart with Gorgonzola and Brie on Simply Recipes right here: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/caramelized_onion_tart_with_gorgonzola_and_brie/ (*Sorry folks, I’m having trouble with the hyperlink today.)

I confess: I was afraid of the puff pastry. Anything that involves flouring a countertop usually ends in disaster for me. But this was a cinch! I also learned that you can refreeze puff pastry as long as you thawed it out in the fridge like the box says. (I was going to make this on Saturday, but circumstances made it a nosh for Thursday friends, instead.) The scent of caramelizing onions is so wonderful. The scent of gorgonzola: not so much. But stinky cheese = yummy cheese. And Brie is brielicious.

Verdict? Pass. I think next time I will pay closer attention to Simply Recipes photo and not put quite so much onions on–but it was still delicious. One friend half-joked, “This is all for us, right?” Three of us came pretty darn close to eating most of it.

So…think you’ll try it? Have you already? Are you an onion convert like me?

One Response to “Caramelized Onion Tart with Gorgonzola and Brie”

  1. catherine March 23, 2012 at 4:49 am #

    Loving this recipe so much. I made it at my grandma’s house. The combination of recipes goes well with each other and the taste is certainly admirable. http://www.gourmandia.ca and http://www.coffeefashion .com also have interesting recipes that you’ll surely want to try!

Leave a Reply

