Roasted Potatoes

23 Feb

(Review by Denise)

Last night was a chicken pot pie kind of night and we usually serve it up with twice-baked potatoes. I thought I’d change it up and try this Roasted Potatoes recipe from Iowa Girl Eats, instead. (It may look like the link took you to the wrong page, but scroll down. I promise the recipe’s there. )

Kristin tells the truth when she says they’re easy. There was a lot less involved in these puppies than our usual twice-baked goodness. I had one potato fail, though, when it seemed cooked through until I cut it in half and discovered a raw middle. Learn from my mistake and be patient with the baking so they really cook through. (I mean good grief, this is microwave baking! Sometimes I lose perspective like that.) In the end the little chunks of potato could easily be picked off and given to the smaller, pickier eaters in our house and disguised as French fries. My man, however, complained that they were too dry. Nothing a lot of butter can’t correct, right?

 (Just a FYI, my man is not very critical. But I asked his opinion for the sake of the blog. Much like in The Princess Bride when the six-fingered man asked Wesley to “please be honest about how you feel” before torturing him. Only with less torture. Also less fingers.)

Verdict? Pass. They were simple and good. I think the Man and I prefer our twice-baked standby, but these were an easy and acceptable alternative.

What say you, dearest reader? (Is this Downton Abbey talk? I’m not sure where that came from.)

2 Responses to “Roasted Potatoes”

  1. Kristin @ Iowa Girl Eats February 23, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Ahhh, love the idea of this blog! And, glad you enjoyed the potatoes! 🙂 AND, thank God I am not allergic to puppies. They are so cute!

Leave a Reply

