Pan-Roasted Chicken with Lemon-Garlic Green Beans

21 Feb

(Review by Denise)

Isn’t that a beautiful chicken dish? You can see why I pinned it. The very simple recipe is found, unsurprisingly, at Real Simple right here.

Last night I had planned on making an E-mealz chicken dish and a side dish with new potatoes and green beans–but when the time came around for it, I wasn’t in the mood. How handy, then, that I had all the ingredients on hand for this baby! We also have lemon trees in the back yard which made it a breeze. Allow yourself time for the prep–there’s a decent amount of chopping and slicing. It did, indeed, turn out beautiful like the photo. However….

Verdict? Fail. This was soooooo lemon-y. I thought the abundance of garlic would balance it all out in the end, but you couldn’t even taste the natural flavors of the potatoes and green beans through the mouth-puckering lemon flavor. The chicken, on the other hand,  turned out pretty bland. I ended up salting it profusely on my plate. I actually ate a bowl of cereal afterward to help with the aftertaste of it all. 

What about you? Do you share my opinion or did you have a more pleasant experience?

Leave a Reply

