“All Fired Up Thai Curry Soup”

13 Feb

(Review by Denise)

Confession: I hate making lunch. It always takes longer than such a simple meal should. Afterall, five cheese crisps just take longer than one, even though there’s not much to it. And sometimes I wonder as a mom of three, is there anything to eat for lunch that doesn’t involve cheese or peanut butter? Carry my mom-habits over to the weekend, and my man and I forget that lunch can actually be good. Cue Trader Joe’s recipe, “All Fired Up Thai Curry Soup.” Check it out here.

It is all an adult lunch should be: simple and satisfying. If you have a Trader Joe’s in your town, you can pick up all five ingredients easily. (If not, you can surely find acceptable substitutions in a Sprout’s, Whole Foods, or probably even your regular grocery store.) Now because this is the sort of thing I do sometimes, I didn’t realize I bought green Thai curry sauce instead of yellow. I used it without an issue. I also didn’t realize how stinking big the bell peppers are in those skinny jars, because in the photo above they’re beautifully julienned. So unless you like whole peppers in your soup, cut them up first. The soup was spicy, but not by much. I think it was just right. We served it up with Trader Joe’s frozen chicken pot stickers and some toasted Tandoori naan.

Verdict? Pass. The hubs especially loved it. He kept saying things like, “Now this is the kind of thing I love,” and “I bet this would be a great dinner with some fried tofu or grilled chicken stirred in.” He actually reheated the leftovers for his dinner–a decision he announced as soon as he finished lunch.

What’s your opinion?

Leave a Reply

